Bluebonnet Spring

by Edel Murphy & Ewan Cowley

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      €5 EUR  or more




Bluebonnet Spring EP by Edel Murphy & Ewan Cowley
©2016 IMRO

'Bluebonnet Spring EP' is the debut recording from Irish indie-folk duo Edel Murphy and Ewan Cowley. Rehearsed and recorded in hotels and theatre dressing rooms, their collaboration began on long journeys across America with 'back of the tourbus' song sessions. Soon, tunes were chosen, harmonies devised and a plan was formed to capture the sound of ukulele, guitar and two voices.

The five track EP evokes Americana, Indie Folk and features a new song 'Careless Hands' written by Edel Murphy. Other songs are 'Gulf Coast Highway' by Nanci Griffith, the American folk classic 'Hard Times Come Again No More’, The Divine Comedy's 'Songs Of Love' and 'The Rainbow Connection' from the 1979 film 'The Muppet Movie’.

Edel Murphy is an actress and singer from Dublin. She has always been heavily involved in music, having been a soloist and member of many choirs from a young age, along with playing piano, guitar and ukulele. Edel has toured extensively with Emmy nominated Irish music group 'Celtic Woman' and is the soprano soloist with the world renowned 'Riverdance'.

Ewan Cowley is a Dublin based musician and producer. He has worked with the RTE Symphony Orchestra, The High Kings, Dónal Lunny, Tommy Fleming and as an arranger and multi-instrumentalist with Emmy nominated Irish group 'Celtic Woman'.


released February 7, 2016

01 Gulf Coast Highway (J. Hooker/N. Griffith/D. Flowers)
02 Songs Of Love (N. Hannon)
03 Careless Hands (E. Murphy)
04 Hard Times Come Again No More (Trad. Arr. E. Cowley/E. Murphy)
05 The Rainbow Connection (P. Williams/K.Ascher)

Edel Murphy - Vocal, Ukulele.
Ewan Cowley - Vocal, Guitar, Piano, Bouzouki, Banjo.
Joe Csibi - Double Bass ( 3, 5 ) Electric Bass ( 2 )
Dave McCune - Drums
Tommy Martin - Irish Flute
Lynda O'Connor - Violin
Eoghan O'Neill - Acoustic Bass ( 4 ) Electric Bass ( 1 )
Andrew Reilly - Bodhrán, Percussion

Produced by Ewan Cowley.
Mixed by Mark Murphy.
Mastered by Andrew Boland.
Recorded by Dave McCune at The Ventry, Dublin and Joe McGrath at Hellfire, Dublin.
Additional U.S recording by Ewan Cowley in Tulsa OK, Lafayette LA and Memphis, TN.



all rights reserved


Edel Murphy & Ewan Cowley Dublin, Ireland

contact / help

Contact Edel Murphy & Ewan Cowley

Streaming and
Download help